21-25 May 2013 Porquerolles (France)


Open quantum systems are at the center of many research areas. The workshop  will bring together communities working with shared interests on superradiance and localization in cold atoms, experiments with microwave resonators, exceptional points and PT symmetry, optics, nuclear physics, quantum chaos, quantum dots, quantum transport in mesoscopic systems, random lasing. The objective is to bring together both theoretical and experimental physicists addressing similar scattering and transport phenomena in order to focus theoretical research towards applicative problems and to push experiments into regimes which have not been analyzed before. The participating PhD students, Post Docs thus will gain insight on several different subjects in physics wich are related to open wave systems, giving them the possibility to widen their education in this field.

Invited Speakers

Charles S. Adams (Durham University, Durham, Great Britain)
Eric Akkermans (Technion, Haifa, Israel)
Jonathan Bird (University at Buffalo, USA)
Tobias Brandes (Technische Universität Berlin, Germany)
Philippe W. Courteille (Universidade de Sao Paulo, Brazil)
Maarten DeKieviet (Universität    Heidelberg, Germany)
Rosario Fazio (Scuola Normale Superiore, Pisa, Italy)
Eva-Maria Graefe (Imperial College London, Great Britain)
Thomas Guhr (Universität Duisburg-Essen, Germany)
Susana Huelga (Institute of Theoretical Physics, Ulm University)
Felix Izrailev (Instituto de Física, BUAP, Puebla, Mexico)
Lev Kaplan (Tulane University, New Orleans, USA)
Tsampikos Kottos (Wesleyan Universit, Middletown, USA)
Markus Oberthaler (Universität Heidelberg, Germany)
Uri Peskin (Technion, Haifa, Israel)
Achim Richter (Technische Universität Darmstadt, Germany)
Stefan Rotter (ITP, TU Wien, Austria)
Ralf Röhlsberger (DESY, Hamburg, Germany)
Henning Schomerus (Lancaster University Lancaster, Great Britain)
Marlan O. Scully (Princeton University, Princeton, New Jersey, USA)
Hans-Jürgen Stöckmann (Universität Marburg, Germany)
A. Douglas Stone (Yale University, USA)

Registration deadline

The deadline for registration is 15th of april.

Please use the 'Register' on the left hand side for registration.

Due to the limited time there will be not possibility for additional oral presentations.


We would like to thank the following institutions for financial support:

Università Cattolica del Sacro Cuore, Laboratoire de Physique de la Matière Condensée, Deutsche Forschungsgemeinschaft, and Föderation Döblin

 Logo CuoroLPMCLogo Logo-DFG  Foederation Döblin

Organizing and Scientific Commitee

Luca Celardo, Barbara Dietz, Robin Kaiser, Ulrich Kuhl, Ingrid Rotter

contact: toqs2013@sciencesconf.org

Online user: 1